The Overstuffed Bookcase

Browsing Tag:

Stand Alone

Reviews

Mini Review: Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

I didn’t write down too many notes while reading Nimona, so I’m just going to write a mini review where I share some of my notes: Yay for page numbers! (So many graphic novels and manga don’t have page numbers and I’m kind of weird and I want to know exactly how many pages I’ve read in a day or how many pages I  ...

Read more

Reviews

Review: The Great American Whatever by Tim Federle

  A Bit Back and Forth For some reason, my opinion of The Great American Whatever kind of went back and forth a lot. I liked the humor right from the beginning, but then it seemed to be too clever. The main character, Quinn, would think about how he was “so awkward” but he constantly had witty comebacks for everything. And then  ...

Read more

Reviews

Review: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Even though I am a YA girl at heart, I’ve recently really craved adult thrillers, and I think the blame for that can be placed squarely on The Girl on the Train. I really, really enjoyed it, even though it isn’t one of my favorites, and it didn’t blow me away at all. But it gave me an itch for more books like it, and I really  ...

Read more

Reviews

Review: How to Disappear by Ann Redisch Stampler

Title: How to Disappear Author: Ann Redisch Stampler Series: None Publisher: Simon Pulse Publication Date: June 14, 2016 Pages: 416 Format/Source: eARC/From publisher via Edelweiss   Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Mystery, Thriller This electric cross-country thriller follows the game of cat and mouse between a girl on the run from a murder she  ...

Read more

Reviews

Review: My Life With the Liars by Caela Carter

Title: My Life With the Liars Author: Caela Carter Series: None Publisher: HarperCollins Publication Date: March 8, 2016 Pages: 288 Format/Source: eARC/From publisher via Edelweiss   Age Group/Genre: Middle Grade/Contemporary, Religion Perfect for fans of Mockingbird and Counting by 7s, Caela Carter’s middle grade debut is a story of one  ...

Read more

Reviews

Review: We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

Title: We Are the Ants Author: Shaun David Hutchinson Series: None Publisher: Simon Pulse Publication Date: January 2016 Pages: 451 Format/Source: ARC/From Publisher Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary, Science Fiction, LGBTQIA There are a few things Henry Denton knows, and a few things he doesn’t. Henry knows that his mom is struggling  ...

Read more

Reviews

Review: Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

Title: Blackhearts Author: Nicole Castroman Series: None? Publisher: Simon Pulse Publication Date: February 9, 2016 Pages: 384 Format/Source: eARC/From publisher, via Edelweiss   Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Historical Fiction, Romance Blackbeard the pirate was known for striking fear in the hearts of the bravest of sailors. But once he was  ...

Read more

Reviews

Review: Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

Title: Symptoms of Being Human Author: Jeff Garvin Series: None Publisher: Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publication Date: February 2, 2016 Pages: 352 Format/Source: eARC/From publisher via Edelweiss   Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary, LGBTQIA The first thing you’re going to want to know about me is: Am I a boy, or am I a  ...

Read more

Reviews

Review: Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto

Title: Revenge and the Wild Author: Michelle Modesto Series: None? Publisher: Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publication Date: February 2, 2016 Pages: 384 Format/Source: eARC/From publisher via Edelweiss   Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy, Science Fiction, Steampunk, Western The two-bit town of Rogue City is a lawless place,  ...

Read more