The Overstuffed Bookcase

Browsing Tag:

Contemporary

Reviews

Review: My Life With the Liars by Caela Carter

Title: My Life With the Liars Author: Caela Carter Series: None Publisher: HarperCollins Publication Date: March 8, 2016 Pages: 288 Format/Source: eARC/From publisher via Edelweiss   Age Group/Genre: Middle Grade/Contemporary, Religion Perfect for fans of Mockingbird and Counting by 7s, Caela Carter’s middle grade debut is a story of one  ...

Read more

Reviews

Review: We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

Title: We Are the Ants Author: Shaun David Hutchinson Series: None Publisher: Simon Pulse Publication Date: January 2016 Pages: 451 Format/Source: ARC/From Publisher Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary, Science Fiction, LGBTQIA There are a few things Henry Denton knows, and a few things he doesn’t. Henry knows that his mom is struggling  ...

Read more

Reviews

Review: Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

Title: Symptoms of Being Human Author: Jeff Garvin Series: None Publisher: Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publication Date: February 2, 2016 Pages: 352 Format/Source: eARC/From publisher via Edelweiss   Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary, LGBTQIA The first thing you’re going to want to know about me is: Am I a boy, or am I a  ...

Read more

Reviews

Review: This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

Title: This Is Where It Ends Author: Marieke Nijkamp Series: None Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire Publication Date: January 5, 2016 Pages: 282 Format/Source: Hardback/Purchased Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary, Mass Shooting 10:00 a.m. The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire  ...

Read more

Reviews

Review: Wonder by R.J. Palacio

Title: Wonder Author: R.J. Palacio Series: Wonder #1 Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books Publication Date: 2012 Pages: 310 Format/Source: Hardback/Purchased Age Group/Genre: Middle Grade/Contemporary You can’t blend in when you were born to stand out. My name is August. I won’t describe  ...

Read more

Reviews

Review: Just Visiting by Dahlia Adler

Title: Just Visiting Author: Dahlia Adler Series: None Publisher: Spencer Hill Contemporary Publication Date: November 17, 2015 Pages: 348 Format/Source: eARC/From the author  Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary Reagan Forrester wants out—out of her trailer park, out of reach of her freeloading mother, and out of the shadow of the  ...

Read more

Reviews

Review: More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

Title: More Happy Than Not Author: Adam Silvera Series: None Publisher: Soho Teen Publication Date: June 2, 2015 Pages: 293 Format/Source: Hardback/Library   Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary, Science Fiction, LGBTQIA In his twisty, gritty, profoundly moving debut—called “mandatory reading” by the New York Times—Adam Silvera brings to  ...

Read more

Reviews

Mini Review: The Guild Graphic Novels Volumes 1 & 2

Title: The GuildAuthor: Felicia Day, Jim Rugg, Dan JacksonSeries: The Guild, Vol. 1Publisher: Dark Horse BooksPublication Date: 2010Pages: 83Format/Source: Paperback Graphic Novel/Library  Age Group/Genre: Adult/Contemporary, Gaming Internet phenomenon The Guild comes to comics, courtesy of series creator, writer, and star Felicia Day (Dr.  ...

Read more

Reviews

Review: This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

Title: This Song Will Save Your Life Author: Leila Sales Series: None Publisher: Farrar Straus Giroux Books For Young Readers, an imprint of Macmillan Publication Date: 2013 Pages: 274 Format/Source: Hardback/Purchased Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary Making friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her  ...

Read more

Reviews

Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Title: We Were Liars Author: E. Lockhart Series: None Publisher: Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Publication Date: 2014 Pages: 225 Format/Source: Hardback/Purchased  Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary, Mystery A beautiful and distinguished family. A private island. A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy. A  ...

Read more