The Overstuffed Bookcase

Browsing Tag:

Diverse

Uncategorized

Mini Review: The First Part Last by Angela Johnson

FTC Disclaimer: I borrowed a copy of this book from my local library. I was in no way compensated for this review. As with all of my mini reviews, I’m just going to share some of my notes that I wrote while reading The First Part Last: I liked this part where the title comes from, about how we miss some of the easiest parts of our lives,  ...

Read more

Uncategorized

Mini Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

FTC Disclaimer: I borrowed a copy of this book from my library. I was in no way compensated for this review. As with all of my mini reviews, I’m just going to share some of my notes: Very Veronica Mars right from the beginning. Bonus Points for Harry Potter reference (50,000 points) This is very much Scandal, but I’m also getting a  ...

Read more

Uncategorized

Review: The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

The Elephant in the Room… Okay, so first things first, let’s get this out in the open: there is incest in The Thousandth Floor. Not incest with a blood sibling, but with a girl and her adopted brother. So not so bad, right? Well, they grew up basically their entire lives as siblings, so that’s still crossing into incest  ...

Read more

Uncategorized

Review: Consider (Holo #1) by Kristy Acevedo

Title: Consider Author: Kristy Acevedo Series: Holo #1 Publisher: Jolly Fish Press Publication Date: April 19, 2016 Pages: 288 Format/Source: ARC/From author & publisher  Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Science Fiction, Apocalyptic As if Alexandra Lucas’ anxiety disorder isn’t enough, mysterious holograms suddenly appear from the sky,  ...

Read more

Uncategorized

Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Title: Illuminae Author: Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff Series: The Illuminae Files #1 Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books Publication Date: 2015 Pages: 599 Format/Source: Hardback/Purchased Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Science Fiction This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest  ...

Read more

Uncategorized

Review: My Life With the Liars by Caela Carter

Title: My Life With the Liars Author: Caela Carter Series: None Publisher: HarperCollins Publication Date: March 8, 2016 Pages: 288 Format/Source: eARC/From publisher via Edelweiss   Age Group/Genre: Middle Grade/Contemporary, Religion Perfect for fans of Mockingbird and Counting by 7s, Caela Carter’s middle grade debut is a story of one  ...

Read more

Uncategorized

Review: We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

Title: We Are the Ants Author: Shaun David Hutchinson Series: None Publisher: Simon Pulse Publication Date: January 2016 Pages: 451 Format/Source: ARC/From Publisher Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary, Science Fiction, LGBTQIA There are a few things Henry Denton knows, and a few things he doesn’t. Henry knows that his mom is struggling  ...

Read more

Uncategorized

Review: Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto

Title: Revenge and the Wild Author: Michelle Modesto Series: None? Publisher: Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publication Date: February 2, 2016 Pages: 384 Format/Source: eARC/From publisher via Edelweiss   Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy, Science Fiction, Steampunk, Western The two-bit town of Rogue City is a lawless place,  ...

Read more

Uncategorized

Review: This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

Title: This Is Where It Ends Author: Marieke Nijkamp Series: None Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire Publication Date: January 5, 2016 Pages: 282 Format/Source: Hardback/Purchased Age Group/Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary, Mass Shooting 10:00 a.m. The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire  ...

Read more

Uncategorized

Review: Wonder by R.J. Palacio

Title: Wonder Author: R.J. Palacio Series: Wonder #1 Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books Publication Date: 2012 Pages: 310 Format/Source: Hardback/Purchased Age Group/Genre: Middle Grade/Contemporary You can’t blend in when you were born to stand out. My name is August. I won’t describe  ...

Read more