Mini Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Mini Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn BarnesThe Fixer
Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Series: The Fixer #1
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Published: July 7th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Mystery
Pages: 372
Format: Hardback
Source: Borrowed from the library
Buy on Amazon | Buy from Publisher

This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars.

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather's ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess's classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist. (Cover and synopsis from Goodreads.)

FTC Disclaimer: I borrowed a copy of this book from my library. I was in no way compensated for this review.

As with all of my mini reviews, I’m just going to share some of my notes:

  • Very Veronica Mars right from the beginning.
  • Bonus Points for Harry Potter reference (50,000 points)
  • This is very much Scandal, but I’m also getting a How To Get Away With Murder vibe from a couple things, as well.
  • Diverse characters! Yay!
  • I really like Asher.
  • Ugh, there’s one part that REALLY bothers me. View Spoiler » It was so annoying.
  • Okay, I didn’t see THAT twist coming. Even though I totally should have seen it. I mean, duh.
  • The synopsis says that this book is a thriller, but it’s not. It’s thrilling for all of about 20 pages.
  • Not really any romance in this book! That’s a plus!

I really didn’t LOVE The Fixer like so many other book bloggers seem to, but I did enjoy it. I think I was expecting it to be more of a thriller, and it really wasn’t. It was definitely a mystery, and if you like Scandal, you’d probably like this one. But it just wasn’t very much of a thriller and that’s what I was expecting and wanting. But I still enjoyed it, and I still have THOUGHTS about what will happen in the rest of the series, so I’m sure I’ll be reading those eventually.


Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click the button below to get started.