Waiting on Wednesday (76): Timekeeper by Tara Sim

WoW graphic 2016

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

My pick this week:

Waiting on Wednesday (76): Timekeeper by Tara SimTimekeeper
Author: Tara Sim
Series: Timekeeper #1
Publisher: Sky Pony Press
Published: November 1st 2016
Pages: 368

Two o’clock was missing.

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.
It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab. (Cover and synopsis from Goodreads.)

This book just sounds SO FANTASTIC to me. Although, in the synopsis it says it’s “perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab” and in my opinion, those are two VERRRY different authors. I’m not a fan of Clare at all, but I LOVE Schwab. So I’m really really hoping that it’s more like Schwab’s works.

What book are you waiting on? Let me know, or leave a link to your WoW post in the comments, and I’ll try to stop by your blog!



  1. Micheline D

    July 6, 2016 at 6:20 pm

    Same here my friend, NOT a fan of Clare but LOVE Schwab. I'm really into how time is worked into alternate reality and the Victorian setting!! Thanks for putting this on my radar :)

  2. Cafinated Reads

    July 10, 2016 at 2:53 pm

    I may have to check this one out! Thanks for sharing it. Here's my WoW if you'd like to stop by my blog.

    Old follower :-)

Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click the button below to get started.